bocce_game

I’ve read that Bocce is about to explode in this country. Those of us on the Bocce court are looking around and laughing to ourselves. It would be great, but me thinks it may be the over zealousness of Bocce equipment marketers and fashion. Now we’re really laughing… Bocce fashion? Oh yes I’ve seen Bocce Bikinis. What do you think of when you hear the word “bocce”? Total blank, or are you thinking little old Italian men tossing balls on a dusty court? It may be America’s newest sport, but it’s on of the world’s oldest games. If you can imagine first played with round rocks, or even coconuts, now played with composite or metal balls. A game of skill and strategy. Simple to play and very social… better than Facebook. Multi-generational, and can be played by anyone of any physical ability level.bocceball

There’ll be more bocce talk on this blog in the future. So I’ll cut this short now. Just wanted to throw out the pallino to see if there were any other enthusiasts who are getting the bocce bug.

bocceIn my old neighborhood of Brooklyn Heights this is what’s going on there, they’re a feisty bunch… I learned to play in Seattle, we play on lawn bowling courts. Don’t get me started about the difference between the sports… it’s huge! But mostly in the head.

.

.

